MediaNet International Centre for Journalism

MediaNet International Centre for Journalism is a non-governmental organization founded by a group of Kazakhstan journalists in 2004.

Our mission is:

Our key objectives are:

MediaNet ICJ actively cooperates with Kazakhstan and international organizations working on the development of journalism and implementation of journalists’ rights and freedoms. Since its foundation, MediaNet ICJ has realized more over than 120 different projects in the field of journalism.

The scope of the Center activities include:  
 

Journalism education. 

The main project is MediaSchool which provides regular journalism courses. Since the beginning of its operation in February 2005, over 800 students have finished the School. In addition, MediaNet conducts different seminars and trainings for those working in the media field. Among the topics of workshops and trainings are data visualization, multimedia journalism, investigative journalism, environmental journalism, TV journalism, military journalism, journalism ethics, blogging, financial journalism, principles of ethics in mass media, gender problems, photo journalism and etc.

Publishing 

Among books and guides published by MediaNet ICS are: “Practical Journalism in Kazakhstan” textbook, authored by 18 experienced journalists, lawyers and PR specialists. In 2008 the book was updated and republished in Russian and Kazakh, with circulation of 5 000 copies. Moreover, in 2007 the Center issued “Parliamentary Journalism in Kazakhstan” guidebook. The following materials were also published by MediaNet: Media Law” textbook (for universities); “Cooperation between NGO, Media and Government Agencies”; “Environmental Journalism” manual; “Investigative Journalism” and etc.


Cooperation between non-governmental organizations and mass media 

From 2005 to 2009, MediaNet ICJ implemented its large-scale project aimed at strengthening cooperation between NGOs and mass media. During this period the Center conducted “NGOs as the source of information for Media” in 20 cities of Kazakhstan. In 2005 the Center published the book “NGO Guide Kazakhstan” which contained information about more than 640 active non-governmental organizations working throughout the country. The book was successfully re-published in 2006. In 2009, under the same project, the Center issued a practical guide titled “NGOs, Media and Government Bodies: Keys to Effective Cooperation”.


Law education

MediaNet ICJ has implemented several projects with the aim to provide legal defense of Kazakhstan journalists and mass media. In 4 universities of Kazakhstan well-experienced lawyers held a special course on media and labor law for the students of journalism faculties. In 2007 journalists from 10 Kazakhstan media outlets (Kazakh and Russian speaking) took part in the project “Legal consultation for journalists”, within which the lawyers specialized in media sphere developed and conducted special trainings to improve journalists’ understanding of their rights and  responsibilities. In 2007 MediaNet launched the project “Voice of Freedom Central Asia” Together with its partner public foundation “Voice of Freedom” (Kyrgyzstan) the Center has operated a human right web portal “Voice of Freedom” – www.vof.kg.

From 2009 to 2012, the Center and other NGOs were jointly realizing the project “Monitoring of the Kazakhstan implementation of the National Human Rights Action Plan 2009-2012.

At the present moment, the Center is implementing the second project “Increasing contribution of the civil society into development and implementation of the next National Human Rights Action Plan 2015-2020”.

For more detailed information about the MediaNet projects, please refer to Projects and Reports.

О MediaNet

Международный центр журналистики MediaNet — некоммерческая неправительственная организация, созданная группой казахстанских журналистов в 2004 году. 

Миссия

Поддержка развития гражданского общества в Казахстане и странах Центральной Азии посредством укрепления потенциала независимых и объективных СМИ, поддержки общественных организаций и защиты прав человека и основных свобод.

Цели

Центр сотрудничает с казахстанскими и международными организациями, работающими над развитием журналистики, обеспечением прав и свобод журналистов. За время работы MediaNet реализовал более 120 различных проектов в области журналистики. 

 

Организация работает в следующих направлениях:

Образование в области журналистики

Основным проектом в данном направлении является Медиа-Школа – постоянно действующие курсы журналистики, на которых с момента открытия Школы в феврале 2005 года, прошли обучение уже порядка 800 человек. Кроме того, MediaNet проводит различные семинары и тренинги для представителей медиа-сферы. Среди тем семинаров и тренингов были визуализация данных, мультимедийная журналистика, журналистское расследование, экологическая журналистика, тв-журналистика, военная журналистика, журналистская этика, блоггинг, финансовая журналистика, этические вопросы в СМИ, гендерные проблемы, фотожурналистика и многие другие. 

Издание учебной литературы по журналистике

Среди изданной MediaNet литературы – учебное пособие «Практическая журналистика в Казахстане» (2006 г.), авторами которой стали 18 журналистов-практиков, юристов, специалистов в сфере PR. В 2008 года книга была обновлена и переиздана на казахском и русском языках общим тиражом 5000 экземпляров. Кроме того, в 2007 году издано практическое руководство «Парламентская журналистика в Казахстане». Центр выпустил также пособия по ведению курса медийного права в вузах и другие издания. В печатном и электронном форматах пособие по экологической журналистике и др.

Взаимодействие неправительственных организаций и средств массовой информации

MediaNet с 2005 по 2009 год реализовывал большой проект по усилению взаимодействия между НПО и СМИ. За это время в 20-ти городах Казахстана были проведены семинары-тренинги «НПО как источник информации для СМИ». Кроме того, в 2005 году был издан, а в 2006 году – переиздан справочник «Путеводитель по НПО Казахстан», содержащий информацию о более чем 640 активных общественных организациях страны. Также в рамках этого проекта в 2009 году было опубликовано практическое руководство «НПО, СМИ и государственные органы: ключи к эффективному сотрудничеству».

Правовое направление

MediaNet реализовал серию проектов по усилению правовой защиты казахстанских журналистов и масс-медиа. В четырех вузах Казахстана опытными юристами был проведен специальный курс для студентов факультетов журналистики по медийному и трудовому праву. В 2007 году 10 редакций казахстанских СМИ, пишущих на казахском и русском языках приняли участие в программе «Юридическая консультация для СМИ»: юристы, специализирующиеся в области СМИ разработали и провели специальные тренинги, позволяющие улучшить понимание журналистами их прав и ответственности. С июня 2007 года MediaNet реализует проект «Голос свободы Центральной Азии», в рамках которого в партнерстве с общественным фондом «Голос свободы» из Кыргызстана работает над правозащитным порталом Voice of Freedom – www.vof.kg.

С 2009 по 2012 годы организация в партнерстве с другими НПО реализовывала проект "Мониторинг исполнения РК "нациаонального плана действий в области прав человека.В данный момент реализуется второй проект в этой сфере "Повышение вклада гражданского общества в разработку и реализацию второго Национального плана действий по правам человека на 2015-2020 гг.

Более подробное описание проектов, реализуемых и реализованных MediaNet, можно найти в рубрике «Проекты MediaNet». Описание проектов представлено также в рубрике «Отчеты». Со списком партнеров MediaNet можно ознакомиться в соответствующей рубрике.